Kenneth Darter

Writing, Music, and Life

Painting

This is a painting of our house by my son who’s 5. I was pretty impressed with it because it really does look just like our house. He hasn’t worked out how to draw perspective and dimensions yet but I think it’s pretty good (of course, I’m exceedingly biased, he’s my son after all).  I’m also interested in anything he draws because he has declared for some time now that he wants to be a painter when he grows up.

My wife and I asked him to tell us about the picture.
My son: “This is our house and these are the clouds and the sun. And this is the sock.” (see circle #1 below).
Me: “Why is there a sock in the air.”
My son (looking at me like I’m a total dunce): “Because the wind blew it up there.”
Me: “Ah, of course. I knew that.”
My son: “And this is the grass.  Daddy hasn’t mowed all of the grass so it’s very tall right here.” (see circle #2 below)
Me: “Ummm.”
My Son: “And these are extra stairs that are under the other stairs.  You can use them when its raining to not get wet.  They also go to the secret door that goes underground.”  (see circle #3 below)
Me: “Ummm.”

Now I took art appreciation in college so I know that some famous painters did hide things and put messages into their paintings (I also read The DaVinci Code but haven’t been able to bring myself to watch the movie – it’s the haircut, I just don’t know if I want to look at that for two hours).

So I’m wondering, is my son hiding messages in his pictures?  Is he trying to tell me to cut the grass or is he directing us to think about the laziness of society.  Maybe the sock is a commentary on global warming?  I didn’t know what to make of the extra stairs and the underground room.

But then later I asked him if he still wanted to be a painter when he grew up.  “No,” he said, “I’m going to be a spy.”

Now the secret underground room makes a lot more sense!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Painting

  1. Ahhh …. the wisdom of children. And we think we’re the smart ones, but we’re really not. That picture is priceless! Love it! 🙂

  2. Hilarious story Kenneth. You better start digging the hole for the secret room. The ground gets hard in winter! 😉

Leave a Reply

